Archiv für den Monat: März 2023

out on march 10th: SARA PERSICO – Boundary


Format:Limited edition tape, 100 handnumbered items / download

Release date: march 10th 2023

After several years of intense performance activity, the Italian sound artist and vocalist SARA PERSICO releases her debut EP “Boundary”, to be followed by a full album.

Born and raised in Naples, Berlin-based sound artist / vocalist SARA PERSICO cut her teeth experimenting on the fringes of Naples’ fiery underground experimental/noise scene, developing a technique that would integrate her voice with analogue electronics, field recordings, and samples.
PERSICO holds a BA from the Conservatory of Napoli and a Master’s Degree from the Conservatory of Bologna and gained several residencies and scholarships like Temp Studio, Lisbon (2018), Amplify Berlin (2021), Sonoscopia, Porto (2022), Sardegna Teatro – V2 Unstable, Argentiera (2022). She presented her work in festival and events like Ballroom Blitz Beirut, CTM Festival, Ortigia Sound System Festival/Bosco Colto, Codex Club, Documenta Fifteen, Dancity Festival, Radical DB, Life Libertas Festival, among others.
As improviser and performer, she has collaborated with a wide spectrum of artists, joining EVELYN SAYLOR’s vocal ensemble for CATERINA BARBIERI’s acclaimed “light-years” show at Rewire Festival and London’s Southbank Centre, and worked on projects alongside THE EX’s ANDY MOOR, TONY ELIEH (KARKHANA), LUDWIG WANDINGER, DIRAR KALASH, ELVIN BRANDHI, RECORDAT, and many others.
She’s also a fearless DJ who’s able to straddle vastly different worlds, offering just as much attention to abstract electronic sounds as she does bass-heavy club music, noise, and vocal experiments. She is currently a resident on Bethlehem’s Radio Alhara.
All this energy and experience radiates from her solo debut “Boundary”: PERSICO’s expressive vocals play a central role, but her command of precisely sculpted electronic textures and dynamic rhythmic structures is just as crucial to the overall experience.
Deconstructed beats, experimental voice, harmonic music, distorted rhythms craft a dense introspective work that explores intimately the boundaries of the self. Identity rupture as a survival technique, a voice-research climax with an unconventional approach – multi-faceted ideas melt in a heavy-aesthetical 6 track solo EP that brings together different styles like noise and clubby sounds.


  1. Fugace
  2. Boundary
  3. Exit
  4. Terra Mala
  5. Under The Raw Light
  6. Umbilical

All tracks written by Sara Persico
Produced by Koenraad Ecker and Sara Persico
Mixed by Koenraad Ecker
Mastered by James Ginzburg
Baritone saxophone on Exit by Sofia Salvo
Artwork by Mothanna Hussein